2177 I Hear You Knocking – Dave Edmunds (1970)

ringo and dave

Ringo Starr and Dave Edmunds.

I Hear You Knocking was written by Dave Bartholomew and was first recorded by Smiley Lewis in 1955. Fats Domino recorded the song in 1961. Dave Edmunds recorded his version in 1970. His version was released as a single in 1970 with Black Bill on the B-side. The single went to number one on the UK Singles chart and number four on the Billboard chart. John Lennon liked the song saying “I always liked simple rock. There’s a great one in England now, ‘I Hear You Knocking’”. George Harrison also liked the song. He played it with Phil Spector during a jam session in 1971. I Hear You Knocking was part of the repertoire of The Pete Best Band. They recorded it live in Liverpool in 1988. That version was released in 1992 on the album Live At The Adelphi, Liverpool 1988. The song was part of the repertoire of Ringo Starr And His All-Starr Band and was sung by Dave Edmunds. A live version from 2000 was released on the 2001 album The Anthology…So Far.

Now Hear This : I Hear You Knocking – The Pete Best Band (1992)
I Hear You Knocking – Ringo Starr And His All-Starr Band (2001)


2167 Get Back – Doris Troy (1970)


Get Back.

Get Back was written by Paul McCartney but is credited to Lennon-McCartney. It was first recorded by The Beatles in 1969. Doris Troy recorded her version in 1969. That version features George Harrison and Eric Clapton on guitar, Klaus Voormann on bass, Ringo Starr on drums and Billy Preston on keyboards. Get Back was released as the B-side to Jacob’s Ladder in 1970.

2135 Worldwide 50 Gold Award Hits Vol. 1 – Elvis Presley (1970)


Worldwide 50 Gold Award Hits, Vol. 1 

This four-album compilation box set was released by RCA Records in 1970. It is made up of songs recorded by Elvis Presley between 1956 and 1969. The box set contains a total of forty-five tracks and includes Heartbreak Hotel, All Shook Up, Jailhouse Rock, Wooden Heart, and In The Ghetto. The album reached number forty-five on the Billboard chart. John Lennon owned a copy of the album.

Side 1
1) Heartbreak Hotel
2) I Was The One
3) I Want You, I Need You, I Love You
4) Don’t Be Cruel
5) Hound Dog
6)Love Me Tender
Side 2
1) Any Way You Want Me
2) Too Much
3) Playing For Keeps
4) All Shook Up
5) That’s When Your Heartaches Begin
6) Loving You
Side 3
1) (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear
2) Jailhouse Rock
3) Treat Me Nice
4) I Beg Of You
5) Don’t
6) Wear My Ring Around Your Neck
7) Hard Headed Woman
Side Four
1) I Got Stung
2) A Fool Such As I
3) A Big Hunk O’ Love
4) Stuck On You
5) A Mess Of Blues
6) It’s Not Or Never
Side Five
1) I Gotta Know
2) Are You Lonesome Tonight?
3) Surrender
4) I Feel So Bad
5) Little Sister
6) Can’t Help Falling In Love
Side Six
1) Rock-A-Hula Baby
2) Anything That’s Part Of You
3) Good Luck Charm
4) She’s Not You
5) Return To Sender
6) Where Do You Come From
7) One Broken Heart For Sale
Side Seven
1) (You’re The) Devil In Disguise
2) Bossa Nova Baby
3) Kissin’ Cousins
4) Viva Las Vegas
5) Ain’t That Loving You Baby
6) Wooden Heart
Side Eight
1) Crying In The Chapel
2) If I Can Dream
3) In The Ghetto
4) Suspicious Minds
5) Don’t Cry Daddy
6) Kentucky Rain
7) Elvis Sails

2036 Ring Of Fire – Eric Burdon & The Animals (1968)

ring of

Ring Of Fire.

Ring Of Fire was written by June Carter and Merle Kilgore. It was first recorded by Anita Carter in 1963. The song has also been recorded by Johnny Cash, Kitty Wells, and Jerry Lee Lewis among others. Eric Burdon & The Animals recorded the song in 1968. It was first released on their 1968 album Love Is. Ring Of Fire was also released as a single in the UK in 1969. The B-side was I’m An Animal. The single reached number thirty-five on the UK Singles chart. John Lennon was a fan of Eric Burdon & The Animals and he liked their version of Ring Of Fire.

2030 The Beatles’ Seventh Christmas Record – The Beatles (1969)


The Beatles’ Seventh Christmas Record.

This spoken word record was written by The Beatles in 1969. It was recorded by The Beatles in 1969 and was produced by Kenny Everett. The recordings were made in various locations in England including Ascot, Weybridge, St. John’s Wood and the Apple Studios. The recording was released as a 7″ flexi disc on the Lyntone label and was only available to members of The Beatles’ fan club. The front cover uses a photograph taken by Ringo Starr while the back cover uses drawings by his son Zak Starkey. Zak Starkey can also be heard at the beginning of the recording. The back cover mentions the Plastic Ono Band’s’ 1969 single Give Peace A Chance. The recording is largely made up of interviews, comedy skits, and songs recorded by John Lennon and Yoko Ono at Tittenhurst Park in Ascot. The recording includes a snippet of The Beatles’ 1969 song The End and an a cappella version of Good King Wenceslas performed by John Lennon. The recording also includes extracts from the original songs Good Evening To You Gentlemen (sung by Ringo Starr), This Is To Wish You A Merry, Merry Christmas (sung by Paul McCartney) and Merry Christmas (sung by John Lennon and Yoko Ono). The recording also includes instrumental versions of The First Noel and While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks recorded by unidentified performers.The Beatles’ Seventh Christmas Record was the last recording released by The Beatles’ during the 1960s.

2029 Across The Universe – The Beatles (1969)

our world

No One’s Gonna Change Our World.

Across The Universe was written by John Lennon in 1968. It is credited to Lennon-McCartney. It was first recorded by The Beatles in 1968. It was recorded at EMI Studios and was produced by George Martin. The recording features backing vocals by two fans of The Beatles, Lizzie Bravo and Gayleen Pease. The recording also features George Martin on Hammond organ. Take 2 was released on The Beatles’ 1996 album Anthology 2. The song was first released on the 1969 charity album No One’s Gonna Change Our World. The album also included songs by Cilla Black (What The World Needs Now Is Love), Rolf Harris (Cuddly Old Koala), Spike Milligan (Ning Nang Nong, The Python) and Lulu (I’m A Tiger). The Beatles played the song during the Let It Be sessions in 1969. Rehearsals of the song were used in The Beatles’ 1970 movie Let It Be. A remixed version of the 1968 recording was released on The Beatles’ 1970 album Let It Be. A second remix was released on the 2003 album Let It Be…Naked. A version recorded by Cilla Black in 1970 was produced by George Martin and was released on the album Sweet Inspiration. A version recorded by David Bowie for his 1975 album Young Americans features John Lennon on backing vocals and guitar.

Now Hear This: Across The Universe – The Beatles (1970)
Across The Universe – Cilla Black (1970)
Across The Universe – David Bowie (1975)
Across The Universe (Take 2) – The Beatles (1996)
Across The Universe – The Beatles (2003)

2028 John John (Let’s Hope For Peace) – The Plastic Ono Band (1969)


Yoko Ono and John Lennon. 

This song was written by Yoko Ono in 1969. An early version of the song recorded by Yoko Ono in 1969 was included in John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s 1969 Avant-garde piece  Amsterdam from their album Wedding Album. The Plastic Ono Band performed the song live with Yoko Ono on lead vocals. It was performed at the Toronto Rock And Roll Revival festival in Toronto, Canada in September 1969. The band included Eric Clapton, Klaus Voormann, and Alan White. The performance was recorded and was produced by John Lennon and Yoko Ono. It was released on The Plastic Ono Band’s 1969 album Live Peace In Toronto 1969.