1879 The Basement Tapes Acetate – Bob Dylan And The Band (1967)


UK Acetate.

This acetate was made up of demos recorded by Bob Dylan and The Band in 1967. It was recorded at Woodstock in New York. The acetate contained fourteen demos including Please Mrs. Henry, This Wheel’s On Fire, and The Mighty Quinn. The acetate was made available to interested recording artists and George Harrison and Ringo Starr were among the artists that owned a copy. Other artists that owned a copy of the acetate included Peter, Paul And Mary, Manfred Mann, The Byrds, and Julie Driscoll. All fourteen of the demos were released on the 2014 album The Bootleg Series Vol. 11: The Basement Tapes Complete. The Beatles played three songs (Please Mrs. Henry, I Shall Be Released, and The Mighty Quinn) from the acetate during the Let It Be sessions in 1969.


Side 1
1) Million Dollar Bash
2) Yea! Heavy And A Bottle Of Bread
3) Please Mrs. Henry
4) Down In The Flood
5) Lo And Behold
6) Tiny Montgomery
7) This Wheel’s On Fire
Side 2
1) You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
2) I Shall Be Released
3) Tears Of Rage
4) Too Much Of Nothing
5) The Mighty Quinn
6) Open The Door, Homer
7) Nothing Was Delivered


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s