1420 Daydream – The Lovin’ Spoonful (1966)



This song was written by John Sebastian in 1966. It was inspired by The Supremes’ 1964 song Baby Love. It was first recorded by The Lovin’ Spoonful and was released on their album of the same name. It was also released as a single with Night Owl Blues on the B-side. The single reached number two on the Billboard chart and the UK Singles chart. The single was on John Lennon’s jukebox. Paul McCartney was also a fan of The Lovin’ Spoonful and Daydream inspired The Beatles’ 1966 song Good Day Sunshine. Merseybeat group Dale Roberts And The Jaywalkers recorded the song in 1966. Their version was released in 2005 on the album Unearthed Merseybeat Vol 3. The song has also been recorded by Bobby Darin, Rick Nelson, and The Bee Gees among others.

Now Hear This: Good Day Sunshine – The Beatles (1966)
Daydream – Dale Roberts And The Jaywalkers (2005)

1419 George Martin Scores – George Martin (1965)


George Martin Scores.

This instrumental album was recorded by George Martin and His Orchestra in 1965. It contained twelve tracks included versions of I Feel Fine, No Reply, and All Quiet On The Mersey Front.The track P.S. I Love You is a version of the 1934 song written by Gordon Jenkins and Johnny Mercer.All the songs were arranged, conducted and produced by George Martin. The album was released in America on the United Artists Records label in 1965 and was credited to George Martin.

Side 1
1) I Feel Fine
2) Downtown
3) Goin’ Out Of My Head
4) Cast Your Fate To The Wind
5) I’ll Be There
6) Don’t Know What To Do
Side 2
1) All Quiet On The Mersey Front
2) You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling
3) Time Is On My Side
4) P.S. I Love You
5) No Reply
6) Walk Away

1418 Beatle Cracker Suite – Arthur Wilkinson And His Orchestra (1965)


Beatle Cracker Suite.

This EP of classical music was recorded by Arthur Wilkinson And His Orchestra in 1965. It is made up of seven tracks including versions of From Me To You, She Loves You and Ticket To Ride. The songs were all arranged by Arthur Wilkinson in the style of pieces from Tchaikovsky’s ballet The Nutcracker. The EP was released on the His Master’s Voice label in 1965. All seven tracks are credited to Lennon-McCartney-Tchaikovsky-arr. Wilkinson.

Side 1
1) 1st Movement: From Me To You
2) 2nd Movement: Can’t Buy Me Love
3) 3rd Movement: She Loves You
4) 4th Movement: Help!
Side 2
1) 5th Movement: It’s For You
2) 6th Movement: Ticket To Ride
3) 7th Movement: All My Loving

1417 Ticket To Ride – The George Martin Orchestra (1965)

The Fifth Beatle

George Martin.

Ticket To Ride was written by John Lennon but is credited to Lennon-McCartney. It was first recorded by The Beatles in 1965. The George Martin Orchestra recorded the song the same year. It was recorded at EMI Studios and released on the album Help! Part of the song can be heard on Pink Floyd’s song Eclipse from their 1973 album The Dark Side Of The Moon.

Now Hear This: Eclipse – Pink Floyd (1973)

1416 Help! – The George Martin Orchestra (1965)



This instrumental album was recorded by The George Martin Orchestra in 1965. It was recorded at EMI Studios in London and was produced by George Martin. It was released on the Studio 2 Stereo label. The album contained twelve tracks including eleven songs recorded by The Beatles in 1965 for their album Help! The album also includes the song Bahama Sound written by George Martin. The album sleeve notes were written by Brian Epstein.

Side 1
1) Help!
2) Another Girl
3) You’re Going To Lose That Girl
4) I Need You
5) You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
6) The Night Before
Side 2
1) Ticket To Ride
2) Bahama Sound
3) I’ve Just Seen A Face
4) It’s Only Love
5) Tell Me What You See
6) Yesterday

1415 All About The Beatles – Louise Harrison Caldwell (1965)


All About The Beatles.

This spoken word album was recorded in 1965. It is made up of Louise Harrison Caldwell answering questions from fans of The Beatles. It was recorded at five different radio stations across America. The radio stations were WMEX in Boston, WHK in Cleveland, WKNR in Detroit, WNOR in Norfolk and KIMN in Denver. It was released on the Re-Car label in America in 1965. Louise Harrison Caldwell is George Harrison’s sister.

Side 1
1) WMEX – Boston
2) WHK – Cleveland
Side 2
1) WKNR – Detroit
2) WNOR – Norfolk
3) KIMN – Denver

1414 Love Songs To The Beatles – Mary Wells (1965)


Love Songs To The Beatles.

This album was recorded by Mary Wells in 1965.  It is a tribute dedicated to The Beatles. It contained twelve tracks including Please Please Me, Can’t Buy Me Love, Help! and Yesterday. All twelve tracks were written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney. The album was produced by Bernie Wayne and was released on the 20th Century Fox label. In the UK it was released on the Stateside label. Mary Wells toured with The Beatles in 1964.

Side 1
1) He Loves You
2) All My Lovin’
3) Please Please Me
4) Do You Want To Know A Secret
5) Can’t Buy Me Love
6) I Should Have Known Better
Side 2
1) Help
2) Eight Days A Week
3) And I Love Him
4) Ticket To Ride
5) Yesterday
6) I Saw Him Standing There